Steering Committee

 The governance structure of METAC is designed to promote ownership by all those involved in its operations. The Center is accountable to the participating countries/territories, the donors, and the International Monetary Fund (IMF). METAC’s work is guided by a Steering Committee composed of representatives of the authorities of the participating countries/territories, the donors, and the IMF. The Steering Committee acts as an advisory body, providing guidance to develop the Center’s strategy and define its priorities. The Steering Committee meets on an annual or need basis. It is chaired by the Minister of Finance in Lebanon. METAC Coordinator, is the Steering Committee secretary. METAC is funded by contributions from Egypt, European Investment Bank, European Union, the IMF, Algeria, France, Germany, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Oman, Sudan, Switzerland, Syria, the Netherlands, the United States Agency for International Development (USAID) and Yemen.

Steering Committee Members

METAC Country Representatives

Afghanistan
  
Algeria 
Mr. Said Maherzi
Deputy Governor
Central Bank of Algeria
E-mail: maherzi@bank-of-algeria.dz
 Djibouti
Mr. Ali Daoud Houmed
Head of Department of Financial Information
Central Bank of Djibouti
E-mail: ali.daoud@banque-centrale.dj
 Egypt
Ms. Azza El-Sayed
Head of International Organizations Division
Ministry of Finance
E-mail: aelsayed@mof.gov.eg
Iraq
Mr. Safaa Al Deen Mohammad Al Safi
Minister of Finance
Ministry of Finance
E-mail: ministeroffice@mof.gov.iq
Jordan
Dr. Izzeddin M. Kanakrieh
Secretary General to Minister of Finance
Ministry of Finance
E-mail: sg@mof.gov.jo
Lebanon
H.E. Minister Ali Hassan Khalil
Minister of Finance
Ministry of Finance
Email: minister@finance.gov.lb
Libya
 
Morocco
Mr. Jilali Kenzi
Deputy Director
Treasury and External Finance Administration
Ministry of Finance
E-mail: j.kenzi@tresor.finances.gov.ma
Sudan
Ms. Fatima Hassan Ibrahim
Director of the Fiscal Policy and Budget Coordination Unit
Ministry of Finance and National Economy
E-mail: fatimahim71@yahoo.com
Syria
Mr. Mohammad Issa
Director of International Co-operation Department
Ministry of Finance
E-mail: mofissa@mail.sy
Tunisia
   
West Bank and Gaza
Mr. Riyad Abu Shehadeh
Director Supervision and Inspection Department
Palestine Monetary Authority
E-mail: rabushehadeh@pma.ps  
Yemen
Mr. Tarek A. Al Sharafi
Director General of External Financial Relations Department
Ministry of Finance
E-mail: sharafi73@yahoo.com

Donors' Representatives

European Commission
Ms. Irene Mingasson
Head of Unit
Regional Cooperation Neighborhood South
Brussels, Belgium
E-mail: irene.mingasson@ec.europa.eu
European Investment Bank
Mr. Pedro José Frias de Lima
Economist
Luxembourg
E-mail: p.delima@eib.org
France
Mr. Jacques de Lajugie
Head of Economic Mission for the Near East
Embassy of France
E-mail: jacques.delajugie@dgtresor.gouv.fr
Germany
Mr. David, Nguyen-Thanh
Head of Section Public Finance and Administrative Reform
Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH, on behalf of the German Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ)
E-mail: david.nguyen-thanh@giz.de
Kuwait
Mr. Ishaq Abdulkarim
Director of International Economic Co-operation Department
Ministry of Finance
E-mail: iabdulkarim@mof.gov.kw
Oman
 
Switzerland
Mr. Raymund Furrer
Ambassador and Delegate of the Swiss Government for Trade Agreements
State Secretariat for economic Affairs SECO
Swiss Confederation
E-mail: raymund.furrer@seco.admin.ch
 The Netherlands 
Mr. Hester M.J. Somsen
Ambassador
Embassy of the Kingdom of the Netherlands
E-mail: hester.somsem@minbuza.nl
United States Agency for International Development
Mr. Tyler Holt
Director, Office of Middle East Programs
U.S. Agency for International Development
E-mail: tholt@usaid.gov